Penalizing the Productive

Excellent read from the Neal Boortz site:

To All My Valued Employees,

There have been some rumblings around the office about the future of this company, and more specifically, your job. As you know, the economy has changed for the worse and presents many challenges. However, the good news is this: The economy doesn’t pose a threat to your job. What does threaten your job however, is the changing political landscape in this country.

However, let me tell you some little tidbits of fact which might help you decide what is in your best interests.

First, while it is easy to spew rhetoric that casts employers against employees, you have to understand that for every business owner there is a back story. This back story is often neglected and overshadowed by what you see and hear. Sure, you see me park my Mercedes outside. You’ve seen my big home at last years Christmas party. I’m sure; all these flashy icons of luxury conjure up some idealized thoughts about my life.

However, what you don’t see is the back story.

I started this company 28 years ago. At that time, I lived in a 300 square foot studio apartment for 3 years. My entire living apartment was converted into an office so I could put forth 100% effort into building a company, which by the way, would eventually employ you.

My diet consisted of Ramen Pride noodles because every dollar I spent went back into this company. I drove a rusty Toyota Corolla with a defective transmission. I didn’t have time to date. Often times, I stayed home on weekends, while my friends went out drinking and partying. In fact, I was married to my business — hard work, discipline, and sacrifice.

Meanwhile, my friends got jobs. They worked 40 hours a week and made a modest $50K a year and spent every dime they earned. They drove flashy cars and lived in expensive homes and wore fancy designer clothes. Instead of hitting the Nordstrom’s for the latest hot fashion item, I was trolling through the Goodwill store extracting any clothing item that didn’t look like it was birthed in the 70’s. My friends refinanced their mortgages and lived a life of luxury. I, however, did not. I put my time, my money, and my life into a business with a vision that eventually, some day, I too, will be able to afford these luxuries my friends supposedly had.

So, while you physically arrive at the office at 9am, mentally check in at about noon, and then leave at 5pm, I don’t. There is no “off” button for me. When you leave the office, you are done and you have a weekend all to yourself. I unfortunately do not have the freedom. I eat, and breathe this company every minute of the day. There is no rest. There is no weekend. There is no happy hour. Every day this business is attached to my hip like a 1 year old special-needs child. You, of course, only see the fruits of that garden — the nice house, the Mercedes, the vacations… You never realize the back story and the sacrifices I’ve made.

Now, the economy is falling apart and I, the guy that made all the right decisions and saved his money, have to bail-out all the people who didn’t. The people that overspent their paychecks suddenly feel entitled to the same luxuries that I earned and sacrificed a decade of my life for.

Yes, business ownership has is benefits but the price I’ve paid is steep and not without wounds.

Unfortunately, the cost of running this business, and employing you, is starting to eclipse the threshold of marginal benefit and let me tell you why:

I am being taxed to death and the government thinks I don’t pay enough. I have state taxes. Federal taxes. Property taxes. Sales and use taxes. Payroll taxes. Workers compensation taxes. Unemployment taxes. Taxes on taxes. I have to hire a tax man to manage all these taxes and then guess what? I have to pay taxes for employing him. Government mandates and regulations and all the accounting that goes with it, now occupy most of my time. On Oct 15th, I wrote a check to the US Treasury for $288,000 for quarterly taxes. You know what my “stimulus” check was? Zero. Nada. Zilch.

The question I have is this: Who is stimulating the economy? Me, the guy who has provided 14 people good paying jobs and serves over 2,200,000 people per year with a flourishing business? Or, the single mother sitting at home pregnant with her fourth child waiting for her next welfare check? Obviously, government feels the latter is the economic stimulus of this country.

The fact is, if I deducted (Read: Stole) 50% of your paycheck you’d quit and you wouldn’t work here. I mean, why should you? That’s nuts. Who wants to get rewarded only 50% of their hard work? Well, I agree which is why your job is in jeopardy.

Here is what many of you don’t understand … to stimulate the economy you need to stimulate what runs the economy. Had suddenly government mandated to me that I didn’t need to pay taxes, guess what? Instead of depositing that $288,000 into the Washington black-hole, I would have spent it, hired more employees, and generated substantial economic growth. My employees would have enjoyed the wealth of that tax cut in the form of promotions and better salaries. But you can forget it now.

When you have a comatose man on the verge of death, you don’t defibrillate and shock his thumb thinking that will bring him back to life, do you? Or, do you defibrillate his heart? Business is at the heart of America and always has been. To restart it, you must stimulate it, not kill it. Suddenly, the power brokers in Washington believe the poor of America are the essential drivers of the American economic engine. Nothing could be further from the truth and this is the type of change you can keep.

So where am I going with all this?

It’s quite simple.

If any new taxes are levied on me, or my company, my reaction will be swift and simple. I fire you. I fire your co-workers. You can then plead with the government to pay for your mortgage, your SUV, and your child’s future. Frankly, it isn’t my problem any more.

Then, I will close this company down, move to another country, and retire. You see, I’m done. I’m done with a country that penalizes the productive and gives to the unproductive. My motivation to work and to provide jobs will be destroyed, and with it, will be my citizenship.

If you lose your job, it won’t be at the hands of the economy; it will be at the hands of a political hurricane that swept through this country, steamrolled the constitution, and will have changed its landscape forever. If that happens, you can find me sitting on a beach, retired, and with no employees to worry about….

Signed,

Your boss

Tags: , ,

20 Responses to “Penalizing the Productive”

  1. Dillon Sorensen Says:

    Ha! This is cute. Thanks for a good laugh.

  2. Robin Says:

    This is the change the people who voted for Obama are going to get regardless of whether or not that was their intention. Well said.

  3. Robin Says:

    By the way, Dillon, it’s not funny – it’s disgusting.

  4. Dan The Man Says:

    Dillon, I am curious, do call the letter cute because it’s not true and just a “story” or because, well, I’m not really sure why you would call it cute other than that.

  5. Dillon Sorensen Says:

    I call the letter cute because it’s a classic rags-to-riches story that too many Americans get off on. For some reason, so many people are able to find truth in a story that’s actually a load of BS. The American economy can’t be summed up in a little fairy tale about some lucky moron.

    I refuse to feel sorry for a workaholic who has a Mercedes and a big house, even after writing a check to Uncle Sam for a half a million dollars. Obviously, his taxes aren’t high enough.

  6. Dan The Man Says:

    Oh my goodness. Is that all you got out of that? Dillon, have you ever heard the expression “Cannot see the forest for the trees”? You have just demonstrated this for us with your comments.

    Please review the title of ths post and then the last few paragraphs of the story. Well, let me just sum it up for you:

    The Democrats enjoy punishing the productive class in our country. Have you ever taken the time to read the profound “Atlas Shrugged”? It will really make all this clear as to what the Liberals are doing to this country. Obama wants to get the economy going again and at the same time he wants to punish the very people who will get it going. Also, have you ever heard the expression “Have your cake and eat it too”? That is what Obama is trying to do. This part of the story sums it up:

    “I’m done with a country that penalizes the productive and gives to the unproductive. My motivation to work and to provide jobs will be destroyed, and with it, will be my citizenship.”

  7. Dillon Sorensen Says:

    Rich and productive are not synonymous. Not every rich person is productive, and many poor people are productive. In fact, many people in this country work harder than any of us ever have or will, yet make much less money. Liberals believe in placing the majority of the tax burden on the rich – who still remain rich – so that the poor are a little bit less poor. No one is being punished.

  8. AvaP Says:

    HOLY SH*@!!!! Dill..dude..your inexperienced ,untax paying, immature, colors are showing! To write this story off as a “fairy tale” is UNREAL to me! THIS IS MY FATHERS ( and millions of other small and large business owners) STORY!!!! This story is what this country is founded on!! HARD working, dedicated individuals…not “some lucky morons” I can’t wait to tell my father that his business that employs THOUSANDS is just a “rags to richs story” and that he is a “moron” in the eyes of the YOUTH! You had better hope that the “MORON” who employs you doesn’t run over you with that hard earned and well deserved Mercades!!!!

  9. Dan The Man Says:

    Dillon, what you fail to understand is that the point of this post is to show that the producers, the people who actually make the economy churn, the people who make the wealth, are the ones being punished. Our economy thrives on the medium to small business owner and yet Obama is looking to tax them either right out of business or out of the country and then turns around and states we need to keep businesses in the United States.

    You may not understand this, Dillon, due to your youth, however when a business gets taxed more and more they don’t really pay that tax and just keep on going. No. Instead they lay off employees to cut costs. THAT is how they pay the tax. By YOUR job.

    Now, as to your other “Robin Hood” point, why is it that Liberals love to reward the people who don’t work? You speak of wealth envy and income redistribution. You speak of taking money from someone who worked their fingers to the bone and giving it to others who don’t. That is not motiviation. That is not, in short, smart.

    Again, you should pick up “Atlas Shrugged” and give it a read. You may not find it at your public school library as they are more interested in communism and gays but most book stores have it.

  10. Josh Brandt Says:

    AvaP, While I get what you’re saying I think you are being a little rash. I go to school with Dillon, and he is not just some youth. He is very intelligent, even though, in my opinion, his politics are way off.

    Dan The Man, Good job, I’ll have to put “Atlas Shrugged” on my reading list.

    And now for you Dillon. I don’t see how liberals whine about the economy being bad yet tax the ever-loving crap out of the businesses that stimulate it. Liberals raise taxes, which raises government revenue (before they waste it on projects that have nothing to do with the economy, at least. Yeah, I’m looking at you Obama.), but it doesn’t help economic growth.

  11. Dan The Man Says:

    Here is a great quote for you, Dillon, from a huge Liberal, Barney Frank:

    “Yes, I believe later on there should be tax increases … Speaking personally, I think there are a lot of rich people out there whom we can tax at a point down the road and recover some of this money.”

    What does he mean by “recover”? Doesn’t that imply that the money was not theirs to begin with? That they took it or stole it and not the Government is going to “recover” it? That, my friend, is NOT good language. Words mean things and this type of language has dire meanings.

  12. Dan The Man Says:

    Dillon, what do we do after we have taxed the rich so much to feed the poor that there are no rich anymore?

  13. Dillon Sorensen Says:

    You guys crack me up! You have all started your responses with “because you are so young, Dillon.” Josh is young too…but you don’t care…because he agrees with all of you! Yet, I disagree, and you all comment on how young and stupid I am. How do all of you know how old I am, anyway? You act like I’m 12 or something. When your kids are in high school, will you say they are stupid if they disagree with you?

    What all of you fail to understand is that most poor people DO work! The lady taking your order at McDonald’s isn’t making six figures. She’s making minimum wage, trying to support two kids by herself, and going to school at night.

    I know a lot if rich people. When the Bush tax cuts are rolled back…they will still be rich. And the poor will be a bit less poor. We are not talking about dramatic redistribution of wealth, at least at this point in time.

    The guy isn’t a moron because he started a business. My Dad built his practice from nothing. This guy is a moron because he’s going to punish his employees just because he doesn’t agree with some decisions that the President made. Obviously, the majority of Americans believe in Obama and a Democratic Congress…we DO vote in this country…at least, last time I checked.

  14. Robin Says:

    Many poor people are poor because they make poor choices in life. Not finishing high school, getting pregnant with the benefit of marriage or a husband, drug use or drinking, getting involved in situations that result in incarceration. The great thing about America is that there is opportunity for all if they choose to work for it. There are more opportunities for the poor to get help than anywhere else in the world. Thought processes like yours has created a society is filled with people who think they should live like the rich, but not work for it. Your commentary is so very sad and adds to my hopelessness that the current administration has brought.

  15. Dan The Man Says:

    No, Dillon, he is not “punishing” his employees because he disagrees with Obama. He is trying to make a living and provide a living for his employees. When his business is taxed so much he is not making a profit, he has to lay employees off. If he doesn’t, he goes bankrupt.

    Dillon, ANY redistrbution of wealth is wrong. Our founding fathers thought so as well:

    “To take from one because it is thought that his own industry and that of his father’s has acquired too much, in order to spare to others, who, or whose fathers have not exercised equal industry and skill, is to violate arbitrarily the first principle of association–‘the guarantee to every one of a free exercise of his industry and the fruits acquired by it.'” –Thomas Jefferson

  16. Josh Brandt Says:

    Dillon, they are not calling you naive because you disagreed with them, they say so because you are wrong. If that were the case then they would be doing so out of pride, not out of debate

    I don’t think we need to be attacking anyone’s intelligence on here in the first place, that takes away from our arguments and causes people to go on the defensive of themselves instead of defending their argument.

    Now as for the argument, if THE PEOPLE aren’t spending money there is no circulation of money and therefore no economic growth. If you over tax the companies that pay the people, then they won’t spend and the economy worsens. If you cut taxes on the people they will spend more money, and with the tax burden gone they will have more money to spend. If you raise taxes on businesses then they can’t give the people as much money, (or they stop giving them money all together by laying them off) they don’t spend, and the economy goes down the toilet.

  17. AvaP. Says:

    Last time I checked… no one said that Dillon was unintelligent. INEXPERIENCED is what I would say. After you put in eighty hours a week and build something from nothing and have the government come in and say that over half of that is theirs for covering programs that you do not agree with, paying for abortion education oversees ( thanks Big O), paying for housing for people that can get jobs but don’t and the list goes on….then you can comment with experience under your belt. BUT, when you still live off the “teat” it is better to understand where your bounderies are. NOW, I know you are seething at this point…probably saying that youth doesn’t mean you can’t have a comment on things. You are correct..but you had better be able to understand that taxpaying, hardworking business owners will NEVER agree with you on this point. I know this seems harsh as Josh pointed out but calling business owners morons and emplying that they are so selfish as to cut their staff to keep their expensive cars just burns me up!

  18. theNimrod Says:

    Man am I sorry I came so late to this discussion! Great piece.

  19. Roland Says:

    Thanks Nimrod. I just wish that Mark Elrod had kept his site open. I really would like to hear him justify Obama and his tax hikes on the very people who move this economy. It would be quite comical.

  20. Dan The Man Says:

    I love this quote from an Attorney:

    “We are going to try to figure out how to make our income $249,999.00,” she said.

    “We have to find a way out where we can make just what we need to just under the line so we can benefit from Obama’s tax plan,” she added. “Why kill yourself working if you’re going to give it all away to people who aren’t working as hard?”

Leave a Reply

