Fairness? Bi-partisanship?

Bullsh*t is what it is.  Human Events is reporting that:

House Speaker Nancy Pelosiplans to re-write House rules today to ensure that the Republican minority is unable to have any influence on legislation. Pelosi’s proposals are so draconian, and will so polarize the Capitol, that any thought President-elect Obama has of bipartisan cooperation will be rendered impossible before he even takes office.

Pelosi’s rule changes — which may be voted on today — will reverse the fairness rules that were written around Newt Gingrich’s “Contract with America.”

But wait…what happened to Obama and his “Bi-partisanship”?  How is this a “new tone” for Washington?  What the hell?

Let me just say this…I really don’t have a problem with this in theory.   I mean, those who are in power should get to decide the rules (as long as they don’t violate the Constitution).  That was always the problem with Republicans.  They always tried to play nice and be fair and all that and the Democrats just throw mud and slime and crap back at them.  It’s something like this….a Democrat and Republican are fighting and suddenly the Democrat falls off a ledge but grabs on to a tree root and is hanging by a thread.  The Republican puts his hand out to help him and the Democrat just grabs his hand, yanks and throws him over the cliff and then climbs up himself.  That is how it has always been and how it is now.  What the Republicans need to do is, when that happens, just grab a club and start hammering aways at their hands and then kick them in the head to make sure they fall and then, for good measure, they need to push a few boulders down on top of them to make sure.

Anyway, my issue with all this is how the Democrats cry and whine and talk about “fairness” and “reaching across the aisle” and all that garbage and then they turn around and pull this stunt.  What a joke.

Tags: , , , , , ,

13 Responses to “Fairness? Bi-partisanship?”

  1. Terry Stewart Says:

    Mr. Jonathan, I don’t think he/she is portraying Republicans as saints at all but just pointing out that they are a bunch of idiots sometimes. Democrats fight mean and dirty so Republicans should as well.

    Reading some posts there between you two it seems that whatever he/she says on here, you have to jump to the other side and argue.

    Good stuff.

  2. Roland Says:

    Good point Terry. I don’t know about the “other side” argument but that is really what I was saying about Republicans. I know they are not saints. but it pisses me off that they don’t take the gloves off like Democrats do.

  3. Jonathan Says:

    Terry,

    Back in December I established that I’m apparently more familiar with a big-picture summary of this blog’s content than Roland is. Roland claimed that he frequently criticizes “so-called Republicans” and I showed with data that he criticizes Democrats about 10 times often as Republicans…and then Roland responded that his bias is intentional to counteract the media’s opposite bias.

    https://mymoratorium.wordpress.com/2008/12/09/no-bias/#comment-3671

    That’s what I’m referring to in b) above…that the types of the things that Roland complains about from Democratic politicians are usually similarly present in the actions of Republicans too. I don’t object to criticizing bad behavior from Democrats. I object to creating the impression that the behavior of Democratic politicians is uniquely bad. It isn’t, so I object when Roland portrays it that way.

    For example, I’m pretty sure the gloves were off when the Republicans in New Hampshire jammed Democratic phone banks during it’s 2002 election: link

  4. Roland Says:

    Once again Johnny, you miss the point….I have never said that the GOP does not do things the Democrats do. I am just trying to point out that the Liberals do that gets totally glossed over, usually, in the main stream media.

  5. Jonathan Says:

    Dude who shares a name with a character from “Saved by the Bell”,

    You’re right, I did miss that point…probably because this post didn’t mention the media. Was it subliminal?

    Anyway, yes, we’ve been over this…Elrod’s blog is biased and that’s a sign of his serious character flaws and your blog is biased but only to provide a public service by breaking up the gloss that the media has applied to those Democrats.

    Anyway, in this thread before you said “I have never said that the GOP does not do things the Democrats do” you said “…the Republicans don’t take the gloves off like the Democrats do.” That’s the attitude to which I was objecting.

  6. Roland Says:

    What I meant by that is that the Democrats will sling mud, Republicans will sling tissues. I only wish they would use the same tactics as the Democrats do or, better yet, stand up and scream when the Democrats do what they do. One of the big reasons why the left simply hates Coulter is that she does take the gloves off. She does get in their face and shines the light on their lying and cheating and squealing like stuck pigs.

  7. Robin Says:

    But when Republicans sling mud Democrats just delete them from the Facebook friends list – right Jonathan?

  8. Jonathan Says:

    Robin,

    I’m not a Democrat.

    As I think Lisa explained…I was naively looking forward to a post-election decrease in mud-slinging about Obama. Among other things, this (in my opinion) ridiculous statement: “It is incredible to me that America elected a man not on the content of his character, but on the color of his skin” was the straw that broke the camel’s back…

    In a moment of weakness I decided to give myself a break from statements like that (which I think get under my skin even more coming from you than from other people, like Roland and P&C, because we are close family). I had already concluded (after many attempts) that it isn’t fruitful for you and me to try to engage in dialogue about politics (since I never saw any evidence that I was ever able to communicate my point of view in a way that you could understand as reasonable/rational even if you didn’t agree with it), and I knew that you could always see my shared items and blog posts at jonmower.com if you wanted to do so. I knew it might cause from friction, but at that moment I really felt like I needed to at least temporarily mute that channel…so I did.

    I also started a couple blog posts about Obama and the election that I decided to delay finishing/publishing until before the inauguration. I hope to finish/publish them this week at jonmower.com and you can certainly respond to them there if you like.

  9. Robin Says:

    Whatever……

  10. Roland Says:

    “I was naively looking forward to a post-election decrease in mud-slinging about Obama.”

    You know…the Democrats didn’t stop that when Bush got elected (twice). In fact, I don’t see it stopping against Bush even after he leaves office. Heck, Democrats are still blaming Reagan for things.

  11. Jonathan Says:

    Roland,

    I’ve already admitted it was naive wishful thinking. Also, it was a limited-scope hope regarding a small subset of the population (my Facebook friends), not the world in general.

    begin sarcasm alert****

    Robin,

    Thank you so much for responding so generously to my reply. Your thoughtful and gracious response validates the time I took to explain myself and causes me to second-guess my previous conclusion that engaging you in political discussion is a waste of time.

    end sarcasm alert****

  12. Robin Says:

    You are always unhappy that I don’t respond how you think I should. Oh well.

  13. Jonathan Says:

    whatever

Leave a Reply

