Ice Cream and Coffee

God bless capitalism.  I mean, I like a good ice cream just like the next guy but good gosh….who is gonna pay $8.00 for a simple ice cream cone???  Well, evidently, quite a few people will.  It’s the same with coffee at Starbucks and I just don’t understand it.  Well, scratch that.  What I don’t understand is when people talk about saving money or how they are just making ends meet or they whine about how they wish they could afford this or that yet they hit the Cold Stone Creamery once a week and Starbucks three times a week.  Ok, where in the world are your priorities?

The wife and I go to Baskin Robbins maybe once a month or so but they have reasonable prices.  Why would we go to Marble Slab and pay, sometimes, twice as much? 

Sometimes I wonder just how much some of these people actually have in their savings.

Tags: , , ,

5 Responses to “Ice Cream and Coffee”

  1. Politics & Culture Says:

    Actually, it’s only the Fru-Fru drinks that are pricey at Starbucks. A regular cup of coffee is reasonably priced. It’s not as cheap as McDonalds, but the coffee is a lot better than McDonalds (IMHO). But get a Caramel Macchiato and it will cost you around $4.00! But I still get one from time to time…..

    Cold Stone is a nice treat on rare occasions. Once a week? No, I don’t have that kind of money!

  2. Roland Says:

    I do hit starbucks around winter time for their carmel apple spice.

  3. Kristi Says:

    You might want to check and make sure you can’t get caramel apple spice things year round Roland. For a long time my favorite drink at Starbucks has been a peppermint mocha, which I thought was only a holiday thing. It turns out you can have it year round and it might be the same for your caramel apple spice. Of course, that still doesn’t mean I go to Starbucks very often, just on mornings when I have to be at work at 7 AM, which is thankfully only about once every four or five months.

  4. Roland Says:

    Yeah…I checked….no dice. They do have it from around Oct to Feb though so that is nice.

  5. Ava Says:

    The Coldstone in our town has an out the door line almost every night!!! I think it has less to do with money and more to do with people craving a sense of community. Walking up to the ice cream shop, sitting by the fountian talking to neighbors etc…it is not just the food, it is the feeling. I want to laugh when I hear we are in recession.

Leave a Reply

