Quote of the day

I may not agree with McCain on a lot of things and feel he has left many of his Conservative principles however this quote cannot go unmentioned:

“Senator Obama wants our schools to answer to unions and entrenched bureaucracies. I want schools to answer to parents and students.”

Tags: , , , ,

10 Responses to “Quote of the day”

  1. AvaP. Says:

    I PRAY for vouchers! Or, better yet, the public school system to go private enterprise! It is amazing to me that we put people that have education backgrounds, through degrees and experience,in charge of running the business of a school district. No wonder there is so much misappropriation of funds!!!!!!

  2. Politics & Culture Says:

    What’s wrong with the education system in this country? That’s easy. It’s the teacher’s union.

    And BHO will give them more power.

  3. Just This Girl Says:

    >>>It is amazing to me that we put people that have education backgrounds, through degrees and experience,in charge of running the business of a school district.<<<

    Really? That amazes you? Who would you propose be in charge of running school districts: trained monkeys?

    I have to say, off the top of my head I don’t know that I’ve ever seen a more ludicrous comment.

  4. Roland Says:

    Just This Girl, don’t you think that someone with business experience/education should be in charge or at least somewhere at the top? If more schools were run like a business, if competition was introduced, we would see much better schools.

  5. AvaP. Says:

    THANKS Roland! JTG….Trust me…trained monkeys are running the districts. I am a teacher who has worked with and for several districts across the country and ONE of them was run with fiscal responsibility. Guess what? The Superintendant was a former CFO! What a suprise! He knew how to divise a business plan and dole out funds in an approprate way. We actually had and “allowance” that could be used, rolled over to the next year, saved to buy something large for our department or individual class. ( BTW it was a nice chunk of change too!)It was wonderful! Someone with business experience makes all the difference in the world! JTG…sorry you have never read anything more ludicrous…maybe you should read more;)

  6. Just This Girl Says:

    Oh, absolutely. Schools should be run by businessmen. After all, it’s worked out so well for hospitals. What could I have been thinking? As my father used to say, even a blind hog finds an acorn every now and again.

    And let me make sure I have this right: you’re a teacher? I hope it’s not an English class. I had a Business Writing instructor once who wrote like you. I wrote a scathing evaluation stating that I was offended for my writing to be graded by someone who wrote so poorly herself. Although, to be fair, if you’re a public school teacher in the United States, you should have a better grasp of punctuation no matter what topic you’re teaching.

  7. Roland Says:

    That’s right, just a girl, because a quick post on a blog on the internet is SO important to get your grammar right on!

    Simply because you have an education background does not mean you can do anything in education such as running a school district. In the same vein, just because you have a business background does not mean you can run a hospital well, but it does help.

    One thing I find comical is that most public school districts will not allow you to teach without a teaching degree. Why? If the CEO of Google or Ford or Chase decided to retire and teach a business or marketing class in High School they would have to go back to school first. Why? They obviously have great knowledge and experience. Back in the 80’s, before they cracked down so much and passed things like “no child left behind” garbage, I had a few business and law teachers in High School that were awesome…and they held no license.

  8. Just This Girl Says:

    If you write properly, you write properly. If you don’t, you don’t. Your brain may differentiate between formal and informal, but if you normally use correct punctuation, you won’t stop because it’s a “quick post on a blog.”

    I agree wholeheartedly with the teaching degree nonsense. I was fortunate enough to attend private school that didn’t hold with that garbage, and I think I’m the better for it. I don’t mean to diminish the work that goes into earning your teaching license, but I also think much can be said for experience.

    That said, I don’t think people should run a school district just because they have an educational background. They should demonstrate a definite ability to handle the job, but they should have experience in education as well. Likewise, I don’t think one should be able to write medical policy without medical experience. For example, I have writing education and experience, but no medical experience. I should not be writing policy that affects other people without it.

  9. Ava Says:

    JTG
    Thank you for the writing critique but I am afraid that it falls on def ears. I am well aware that I am no New York Magazine writer! Nor, have I ever claimed to be. And, no I am not an English teacher either. THANK GOD! I would be horrible. I work in Special Ed. and they have a hard time communicating anyway! So, my measly poorly constructed sentances and lack of proper punctuation, and terrible spelling doesn’t matter so much when your just trying to get someone to understand language and that words have meaning. I take much more care in my reports and documents than I do in this blog. (I think I knew how to “properly write” at one point in my life, but lost it somewhere along the way.)I try to write on this blog ( as I have for quite a while now) as I speak. I am sorry that is offensive to you and if I respond to anything you post I will make sure to proof it and check for errors as not to offend your English/punctuation sensiblities. We are pretty informal around here. Pretty blunt and downright caddy sometimes. But, overall it is good discussion if you can get past those of us with inept writing abilities.

  10. Ava Says:

    OOPS! I posted before I checked and see a multitude of spelling and sentence errors!!!! Bad habits die hard. Sorry.

Leave a Reply

