Who would you rather have a beer with?

Russel Crowe

My wife and I just finished watching American Gangster.  Although I didn’t like how it glorified a drug dealer, murdering gangster, much like Bonnie and Clyde did in the late 60’s, it none the less a pretty good movie. 

After the film we watched the making of the movie on disk two.  It was interesting  and all but at the end was the best quote of all.  Russell Crowe, who played the detective who finally brings Lucas down.  He plays a honest cop in a city full of corrupt ones.   Anyway, he is talking in this documentary about the real Frank Lucas and states that “I would rather have a beer with Frank Lucas than with Dick Cheney.”  So, let’s see…a former drug lord, murdering piece of scum or the Vice President of the United States?  Hmmmmm….

Of course, what do you expect from someone who throws phones at people?  Let’s just get a moratorium on the Hollywood Elite and be done with it.

 (BTW, here is a nice quote from a good article on Frank Lucas talking about one of his murders):

“He started cursing, saying he was going to make me his bitch and he’d do the same to my mama too. Well, as of now, he’s dead. No question, a dead man. But I let him talk. A dead man got a right to say what he wants. Now the whole block is there, to see if I’m going to pussy out. He was still yelling. So I said to him, ‘When you get through, let me know.’ “

“Then the motherfucker broke for me. But he was too late. I shot him. Four times, right through here: bam, bam, bam, bam.

“Yeah, it was right there,” says Frank Lucas, 35 years after the shooting, pointing out the car window. “The boy didn’t have no head. The whole shit blowed out back there . . . That was my real initiation fee into taking over completely down here. Because I killed the baddest motherfucker. Not just in Harlem but in the world.”

Then Frank laughs.

One Response to “Who would you rather have a beer with?”

  1. createandsmile Says:

    One piece of crap takes out another piece of crap. With that said you don’t know if I am referring to Frank Lucas or Dick Chaney. Quite Frankly, I wouldn’t have a beer with either one. Speaking of beer, (not “bear”) wasn’t there alcohol involved when Chaney shot that guy in the woods? No alcohol involved when Lucas shot his colleague in broad daylight with hundreds of onlookers… well, one thing for sure, there is a “stand-up guy” out of the two.

Leave a Reply

