Jesus Marketing

StarJesus

Are you as tired of ripped off logos as I am?  Is it me or does the church do most of this?  From T-shirts to VBS to retreats Church’s around the country seem to lack creativity or something.  They just can’t help themselves, I guess.  They see a popular logo or movie and have to change it just slightly to make it their own.   I mean, stuff like this just screams “We have no originality, no creativity, we are just lazy!” 

What really cracks me up is that many of these same people who stand up and preach against Hollywood have no problems at all ripping off the current hot movie title to slip into their VBS or sermon series. 

Some people I know will say “No, see..it’s a clever way to evangelize.  See, people will see your shirt, think it says one thing but once they get up close they see it is actually about the church and then that will open the door for you to talk to them!”  No.  It’s just lame. 

I used to have a great shirt that really got conversations going.  It said “Before I formed you in the womb, I knew you.  Jeremiah 1:5.”  The only thing that ripped off was the Bible. 

3 Responses to “Jesus Marketing”

  1. odgie Says:

    Yes, thank you! I hate the whole “marketing approach”. By definition, it means we are trying to sell people something rather than pass on something that will change their lives. Perhaps the most odious marketing ploy I have ever seen is the “Testamints,” breath mints with Bible verses on the wrapper. Does anyone really think this works?

  2. Roland Says:

    Yes, the whole marketing approach seems to have taken over the worship assembly as well. Now we have to have a whole production on Sunday morning. “Lights, Action, Praise Team, Drama, Video, Worship!”

  3. NO Bull » Blog Archive » Jesus Marketing Says:

    […] Michael Arrington wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptStarJesus. Are you as tired of ripped off logos as I am? Is it me or does the church do most of this? From T-shirts to VBS to retreats Church’s around the country seem to lack creativity or something. They just can’t help themselves, … […]

Leave a Reply

