Calling in sick

Office

 

What are we teaching our kids about responsibility?  Are we teaching them that if you just don’t feel like doing something, just pretend you’re sick?    If you have a slight sniffle, then it’s ok to call in?  If things are very busy in the office and you have a lot to do, just act like you are sick and leave early…it’s ok? 

What a crock!!  I can’t tell you how many people I deal with each and every day that call in sick.  It’s so strange how, when we are really busy, is when the most people call in!!!  There is one person in my group that must call in at least once a month!!!  In 10 years with the same company I have NEVER called in sick.  Lucky?  Maybe.  Good immune system?  Big time!  Sucking it up and taking my work and responsibility seriously?  You bet! 

Now, I am not talking about someone who is genuinely sick.  Of course they should stay at home however, I would lay odds that is a small percentage compared to the people who just want to stay home and watch Oprah. 

I mentioned the person who is always calling in and how I never do.  Imagine when I do call in someday.  They are going to know that I am truly sick whereas my co-worker is the butt of jokes whenever they do.

Instead of a moratorium on calling in “sick” what we need is SCID.  That is Sick Caller ID.  They need to invent phones that will show you if a person is truly sick or not.  That would solve everything.  🙂

2 Responses to “Calling in sick”

  1. Marty Says:

    When I call in sick, it’s typically that I’m sick…of my JOB.

  2. newhoosier Says:

    I rarely miss because of an illness, however in my previous job, I did take a few days off. If I wasn’t there the work continued and no one could “on-the-fly” fill in for you. You needed to leave very specific instructions for each minute of the day. I would have felt horrible calling in during the morning. I always setup to have a replacement in place and made sure on my desk I left the instructions. Sometimes things went well, sometimes they didn’t; but I never left someone else holding the bag. And I never left when something important was going on.

    I’m with you on this one Roland.

Leave a Reply

