Diets

dietNow, I know that new diet fads have been around for a while but hasn’t it been just in the last 10 years that this craze has really taken off?  It seems that every year there is a new diet that is sweeping the country.  Did I already do a moratorium on this?  I almost feel I have.  I’m too lazy to go back and check though so I will just keep typing.

Ok, back to the story.  You have Atkins, South Beach, Trim Spa, Slim Fast, L.A. Weight Loss, Weight Watchers, Curves, Vic Tanny (are they still around?) and others….yes I know that some of these are just supplements but you get my point.  Now, before I go on, I know I am going to hear it from the same people that I criticize for wearing rugs or doing the comb over and that is this: “You skinny people! It’s so easy for you to talk about losing weight when you don’t have to! You and your stupid metabolism!”.  Well, that is true to a point.   I never really have had to lose weight.  I used to be able to eat anything I wanted to and exercise zero and not worry about gaining  weight.  In fact, I once tried to put on weight and found it all but impossible.  Now, please note I said “used to”.  That has changed… a little.  I found since my early 30’s that now it is not so easy to do that.  In fact, I noticed I was gaining weight around the mid section.  Not much to notice by others but enough for myself.   I am about 10 to 12lbs over my college weight from 15 years ago so that ain’t bad but still, I noticed a difference in maintaining my weight.

So, what did I do?  I changed.  I began to take more walks at night.  I began to eat less.  At dinner I have one serving.  Maybe…MAYBE an occasional 2nd helping but not much.  I drink tons of water now.  I have cut soft drinks down to one, maybe two a week.  I now maintain a decent weight and don’t really worry about getting big anymore.

Ok, so big deal.  Those who  know me probably never saw a change in my appearance.  What I am saying here, after all this writing, is just that I am sick of all these diets out there.    I am sick of all these diet supplements out there.  Do we really need anymore???  Can’t we live with what we already have on the market?  Do we really need any more fat celebrities hawking this crap?  Can we not just get a simple 10 year moratorium on any new ones?  Not that we need to do away with what we have…much…but can’t we just stop with the new ones that don’t really work anyway?  Better yet, can’t we all just eat less, eat right and exercise just a little bit?

2 Responses to “Diets”

  1. Jeff Slater Says:

    Here is THE Key to losing weight…..

    Are you ready?

    Here it is…..

    Burn more calories than you consume.

    That’s it. That’s not enough to fill a book, but it is the only way to lose weight and keep it off.

  2. c.c. Says:

    Everyone knows how to loose weight…we are just want it FAST and NOW! Fad diets are just a way to get the fast and now for a society that has lost the character traits that are PATIENCE and COMMITMENT. Unfortunatly…I think I am president of that club.

Leave a Reply

