Unions II

teach 

In the news recently I read that about a school in California where test scores were low.  Teachers decided to spend the 1/2 hour of lesson planning they got at the end of the day for additional teaching of language skills as many of the students did not speech English.  Well, guess what?  The unions didn’t like it one bit. For one thing, the teachers were not getting paid for that half hour of teaching.  Also, they have certain laws regarding one teacher working more than another teacher.
What kind of BS is this???  This is exactly what is wrong with Unions.  They reward medocricy.  They punish hard work.  They seek only one thing…power which is exactly why we need a moratorium on them.

Post Script to the story is that the Principal took a vote of all the Teachers to see if they wanted to continue with this.  The vote had to be unanimous.  It was. Every single Teacher voted to keep on with this “extra” teaching and they saw an improvement in test scores and grades.

6 Responses to “Unions II”

  1. policulture Says:

    The four words heard most often by a union worker:

    “That’s Not MY Job!”

  2. Roland Says:

    Very true. I remember at a job I worked at after college the janitorial staff quit so we had to clean up the offices for about a week. It wasn’t our job but we did it because if we didn’t we would get fired.

    Try firing a union worker.

  3. newhoosier Says:

    I saw this on the news last weekend and my thought was:

    “Show me a kid that wants to be in school for an extra half hour, and I’ll show you a teacher that wants to teach them for an extra half hour.”

    In most places, the bulk of kids wouldn’t want the extra half hour. But I bet for those students who really want to learn (like the ones in this piece), it will be easy to find a teacher to give extra time.

    And as far as the union goes, they can’t fire a teacher. So unless they can prove a teacher is breaking the rules, they don’t have a leg to stand on.

    I’ve purposely avoided unions in every place I’ve worked–they’re not worth the money let alone the headaches.

  4. newhoosier Says:

    hmmm, try looking in your askimet spam folder for my comment.

  5. Roland Says:

    Nothing..although I don’t know how to access that folder. Every time I try it says I have none although over 200 have been blocked.

  6. newhoosier Says:

    Dashboard > Comments > Askimet spam

    I basically said that I think there’s enough teachers willing to put forth the extra effort for zero pay to make a difference, but there’s not enough kids that feel the same way. Of course some teachers are just in it for 2 months off during summer, but a lot want to teach….

Leave a Reply

