Aging/Getting Old

“What a drag it is getting old.”  -Rolling Stones

Keef

Isn’t it though?  It sucks to get old.  I know, I know, I am only 36 but still….you can feel it in your bones you when you get up.  You can sense it in your mind when you can’t recall things you used to be able to so easily.  You feel it in your ego when you no longer get carded when buying alcohol.  It just really is a drag.  You can’t stay up as late nor get up as early (or, it’s just more difficult).  You slowly watch your hair disappear your weight go up.  It sucks I tell ya!!

It’s not just your body either.  You start to talk like your parents and say things such as “Wow, when I was your age…” or “Back in the day they never did this or that” or the worst “The music that young people listen to these days…”.  You start to date yourself in conversations talking about cell phones, computers and television.   You feel it when sports stars retire after a 20 yr career….they started when you were in High School!!

I do feel very fortunate however.  I am very healthy, still have a lot of hair and am just 10lbs over my college weight which is really not that hard to maintain…but still…I feel it coming.  Slowly but surly.  I don’t mind the changes too much.  They suck and all but what I really mind is how fast it goes!  As Jackson Brown sings:

 “In 69 I was 21 and called the road my own.  I don’t know when that road turned onto the road I’m on.”  

Where  did it go??  It seriously does feel like just yesterday that I was jamming to Alice Cooper in my dorm room singing “Eighteen” and now I am 19 years from that moment.  Heck, it seems like just yesterday I was bringing home my first born and now she is almost 6!  It just zooms so fast.  Screw “Sunrise Sunset”! It’s more like “Sunrise Noontime”!!!!

You know, as much as Mick and Keith have aged so well, I just hope I have their energy when I am 62 and can still tour the world and rock thru 3 hour shows every other night! 

I vote for a moratorium on aging or, as Mellencamp put it so well:

“Hold on to 16 as long as you can…”

2 Responses to “Aging/Getting Old”

  1. Jeff Says:

    “Twenty years, where’d they go? Twenty years, I don’t know. I sit and I wonder sometimes where they’ve gone.”

    –Bob Seger

  2. newhoosier Says:

    Just like when you find out about your friend on their third marriage or fourth kid. Or when your (or your friend’s) kid sister is getting married, getting a Ph.D., etc. It’s all pretty insane. I’m damn young and things just aren’t the same.

Leave a Reply

