Waiting at restaurants

Is it just me or do you remember back in the 70’s and 80’s that it took longer to get your food at a restaurant?  I seem to remember many times seeing the steam rise from my Dad as he grumbled about so and so table getting their food before us and what was taking so long.  It used to take sometimes 45 min. from the time you ordered to the time you got your food.  Now, you are not even done with the appetizer when the salad comes out then you are not even half way thru the salad when the meal comes.  They try to get you in and out so fast these days you don’t even have time to really savor it.  I guess it is just our fast paced, microwave society but can’t we slow down a bit to enjoy our meal?

I would like a moratorium on “in and out” type restaurants. 

2 Responses to “Waiting at restaurants”

  1. Marty Says:

    This happened to be on Friday night. It’s one of the better reasons to go to a restaurant with a chef, because he’s really not skert to say, “hey, why don’t you slow down so I can chew my food.” And that’s among the lighter things he’s had to say about the food service industry.

  2. newhoosier Says:

    Yeah, I like to order then appetizer and then when it arrives, I’ll give the waitress the entree order. Seems to work really well.

Leave a Reply

