Illegal Immigration

Notice the title of this post.  See the first word?  That is key to this post.  Unfortunately, some people only hear the 2nd word and then turn around and play the race card and call you a bigot or a racist or, to put it quite simply, they say you hate Hispanics.  I am so very tired of not being able to talk about this without being referred to in this way.   We had a discussion recently on Mike Cope’s blog.  People there were insinuating that we were just against Hispanics.  Some just came out and said it.

What don’t people understand?  People are breaking the law and, according to the President, we should just grant them amnesty and move on.  What does that teach our children?  You break the rules? It’s ok.  I’ll give you a free pass this time.  Hmmmm…maybe I should cheat on my taxes this year.  My bonus got cut and I need the money so, really, who will it hurt?

I know that this will be tough to deal with, especially with how many illegals are here already which is why I would just like to see the leak taken care of before anything else.   Perhaps we need to make legal immigration easier.  Maybe.  Regardless of if it is hard to immigrate in legally or about how long it takes or this or that…one thing is for sure, these are law breakers that need to be dealt with and race doesn’t enter into the equation.  I know for some people it is a question of race but those people are just idiots.   

Now, with that being said, am I against immigration? No way.  My Grandparents immigrated over from England.  I am all for LEGAL immigration.  L-E-G-A-L.

I am writing this partly in response to several instances on the radio, blogs and newspapers where a simple discussion could not be held without race being thrown in and someone being called a bigot simply because they want to uphold the law.

We need a 20 year moratorium on people playing the race card every chance they get.    Many times Goodwin’s Law comes into play in these discussions and it’s just getting old.

3 Responses to “Illegal Immigration”

  1. newhoosier Says:

    1) I don’t have a problem with law abiding people from any walk of life. I do have a problem with criminals of any country, race, religion, sexual orientation, etc.

    2) People play the bigotry card because they aren’t intelligent enough to debate the topic at hand. I never have a problem with an intelligent point, even if I don’t agree with it.

    3) On the Internet, who knows what race, religion, etc. people are? Frankly, I don’t care one way or the other. Although, if you see my name, most people will at least know I’m in Indiana. :-p But I could be a gay black man or a poor jewish native american.

  2. cheree Says:

    My mom is Canadian and she has lived in the US for most of her adult life. She recently took her citizenship test and is waiting on a background check to become an American (in a legal manner).

    I have a friend from Mexico who is married to a guy from Tennessee and they have bent over backwards trying to get her legally immigrated. They have spent tons of money trying to make sure everything is on the up and up and all it has given them is grief. She is trying to do the right thing and all of the people that screw it up are making it harder for her. You can read her story here: http://marksadams.blogspot.com/2006/05/hey-ma-im-on-tv-or-immigration-red.html

  3. Marty Says:

    Cheree makes an excellent point. The ones who have perhaps the most right to be ticked off are those who are attempting to immigrate legally. We can thank 9-11 for some of that, too, not *just* those abusing the system.

Leave a Reply

