Case of the “Mondays”

peter1.jpgDoesn’t everyone have someone like that in their office?  Someone who has to say “Hi” to you every time they walk by your desk.  Someone who, if you make eye contact with them, they feel that is reason enough to ask you how it’s going.   Yes, you know who I am talking about.  If you are reading this at work you are probably looking at that person right now.  You know the one who is permanently happy.  Now, I’m not talking about positive or optimistic.  I mean they have some quirky or “cute” comment to anything and everything someone says.  You could be in a meeting and the boss says “How is everyone doing today?” and that person pipes up “Doing fine and feeling fine sir!” Uggggh!!! 

They are the kind of people you don’t want to have over hear you ask a question to someone because they will answer it.

Some catch phrases of this kind of person are:

  • “Okey-Dokey” (they might also be referred to as “Flanders” in some parts of the country
  • “You betcha!”
  • “TGIF!”
  • “I’m off to lunch!” (even though I’m not the boss and could care less)
  • “Good morning!” (the proper way to say it is “morning” in a gravely voice)
  • “Oh, GOODIE!”
  • “It’s Tina’s Birthday next week, do you want to contribute $2.00 for a cake?”
  • “How is Roland today?”

Just shoot me and be done with it!

5 Responses to “Case of the “Mondays””

  1. Politics and Culture Says:

    I worked with a guy like that several years ago. It got old after about 2 minutes. I’m all for being friendly and all that, but phrases like, “Looks like someone’s got a case of the Mondays” have no place in a work environment.

  2. Jill Says:

    Don’t you just hate nice people? The world needs more surliness. There is way too much kindness and consideration! Too much ‘putting other people first!” Come on people – we need more cynicism and isolationism.

  3. Roland Says:

    Yeah, yeah. Whateverrrrrr! There is being nice and there is being annoying. Two different items. I don’t need the same person saying “hi” to me every half hour (which happens to me…seriously!). 🙂

  4. Tina Says:

    My birthday is in October. If people contributed 2.00 every week for my cake, imagine what a cake I would have by the time my birthday rolled around!

  5. newhoosier Says:

    Heck, if 4 people a week each contributed 25 cents, all 4 of you could have great cakes for each of your birthdays! And then, while you’re eating the cake, point and laugh at your coworkers for not coughing up a quarter to join in.

Leave a Reply

