Snow/Cold Weather

Photo 

What is wrong with people??  It’s winter.  WHAT DO YOU EXPECT?????  The media is treating all this snow in the Midwest and northeast as if aliens came down from Mars.  Up in Michigan I read and hear people complaining about the snow and how cold it is.  YOU LIVE IN MICHIGAN.  IT GET’S COLD.  THERE IS SNOW IN WINTER.  Isn’t that partially why you live there?  I can understand if you get transferred there for your job (sorta) but for those people who grew up there, you have NO excuse.  

Consequently, I live in the South.  It gets mighty hot in the summer and I hear the same thing when the tempature rises close to 100.  Weather people freak out and people start to B&M.  Give it a rest.  It’s one thing to comment about the heat or cold but quite another to freak out and complain endlessly about how much you hate the cold/heat and can’t wait for summer/winter.

Oh, and have you heard the latest….snow and cold in winter is due to Global Warming.

Give me at least one or two years moratorium on over hyping the weather.

5 Responses to “Snow/Cold Weather”

  1. Jeff Says:

    I’m with you on this one. I live in the midwest because I like it here. We just got buried with a big snowstorm, and I had to spend the entire morning yesterday shoveling out our driveway (and I am sore today!). But I expect that, because I live in the midwest! I didn’t like living in the south because of the heat (and all the critters), so I moved away.

    It is amazing how much media attention is given to the weather. Yes, we got 14 inches of snow. Yes, the roads are a mess. Yes, the schools are closed. Life goes on!

  2. Roland Says:

    I actually miss shoveling snow (a little). It is a good work out and just brings back memories of going door to door trying to earn money. I remember one time when my friends and I were out all day clearing drive ways then coming home and not being able to feel my toes. Fun stuff.

    The thing great about living down south is that when it does snow, it’s gone in a day or two and you don’t have all that grey slush.

  3. newhoosier Says:

    This is my first winter where it snows more than a flurry every 20 years and no complaints so far. I left the South because I grew up there and hated life between May and November. It took forever, but I wanted out and I got it.

    I have been surprised with the amount of news coverage and lack of snow removal around here. We got a good jump on it since we knew it was coming, but honestly, they could do better. You’d think that by now they’d realize multiple inch snows are common and would learn to handle them better.

    The street I live on (not in a subdivision, but not a major thoroughfare) is down to a lane and a half, with the extra snow blocking access to our mailboxes. I spent the better part of the past two days shoveling snow and have several feet left to go at the end of the driveway, at the front door, and at the back door.

    But it beats a heat index of 100+

  4. Tina Says:

    Down where I live, the media go into a frenzy whenever we have a thunderstorm. I grew up in Florida, where thunderstorms are a regular occurance. I want to say to people, “It’s a thunderstorm, people! Good grief! All you have to do is stay indoors, or in your car, and don’t talk on the phone or take a bath!”

    I can understand the hoopla over an approaching hurricane (especially considering the last few years!) but over a thunderstorm? Egads!!

  5. Roland Says:

    Tina, what I hate is when the interrupt TV because of a thunderstorm instead of just having the beep and the crawl at the bottom of the screen.

Leave a Reply

