Overprotective Parents

kid

Wife took my youngest to a birthday party this weekend.  It was full of little 3 and 4 year old kids.  The party theme was Little Mermaid.  She said parents were talking about the theme and how some of them would not let their kids watch it because parts of it were “too scary”.  These are the same kinds of parents who won’t let their kids watch Rugrats because they say “stupid”.   The same parents who probably think that Bugs Bunny cartoons have too much violence in them.

GIVE ME A BREAK!!!!  We are creating a generation of whimps.  It’s the feminization of our society!!    I wonder what these parents would have thought had they lived 60 to 80 years ago when our Grandparents were married and working full time jobs before they were even 18?   When they had to drop out of school to go to work just to help feed their families?   These are the same parents who push for no score keeping in little league games so you won’t “hurt any feelings” or so “nobody loses”.  Hey!  In life you will lose and it will hurt so get used to it.   These same parents also want no letter grades in school.  Typical Liberal Weenies!  “As long as you try, that is what is imporant.”  No, if you say 2+2 is 5 you are WRONG.

I have also always felt you need to push your kids to do more then they think they can.  To face their fears head on.  Does that mean I’m going to plop my 5 year down and make her watch “The Grudge”?  No way but Little Mermaid?  Rugrats?  Daffy Duck?  You bet!! The 3 Stooges too!!    When my oldest was 3 she was scared of going down a slide.  You know what? I made her go down it.  Guess what? She LOVED it.  I know many parents would have said “That’s ok.  You can go down it when you feel ready”.  What a load of crap.  When teaching her to ride her first bike (with training wheels) there were a lot of tears because I made her do things herself like get on the bike herself.  She cried and said she couldn’t do it when I knew darn well she could.   I sat on the ground, let her have her little cry then watched as she finally did it and saw how proud she was.   I also couldn’t wait for her to have her first fall.  I saw her starting to fall and let her.  I then went over, made sure she was ok and told her to get back up and on and keep going.  I told her what happens when you fall off your bike…you GET BACK UP AND TRY AGAIN.    That is a life lesson I want her to learn early on.  BTW, it was half on the grass and I knew she would not get hurt that bad when she fell.  I’m not a sadist.  I am so glad my Dad pushed me in certain areas.   I am a better person because of it. 

Reminds me of before I was married walking our dog and a little kid came running up to pet her.  We have a Lab…most gentle animal you can own.  Suddenly, we hear his Mom screaming “NO DOG! NO DOG!!!!!” and she grabbed her kid before he could get near.  That kid probably grew up scared to death of dogs and for no reason!!!!

 Ok, this is getting long but I think you get my point.  There is not a thing wrong with shows like The Three Stooges or Bugs Bunny.  Nothing wrong with letting your kids play in the rain or making them do something you know will be fun.  Just use some common sense!  I am sure I will get some kick back on this one but our kids will also never come crying when they trip and fall….on the carpet!!!  They will also be tough enough to kick your honor students butt someday!! 🙂

50 year moratorium on these types of parents.  Give us a new Generation of tough kids.

8 Responses to “Overprotective Parents”

  1. Tina Says:

    Hey, Roland, I now have a link to your blog on my blog!

  2. Jeff Says:

    I’m with you 100% on this one.

    My son and his friend recently had a sleepover at our house (something else overprotective parents won’t allow), and they invented a new activity. They would take turns getting in a laundry basket and riding down the basement stairs. We had to put a stop to it when one of them dented the basement wall with his head (we were concerned about the recently painted basement wall).

  3. Roland Says:

    Thanks Tina!!!

    Jeff, yeah, sleepovers are another good point. My 5 year old went to her first one this year and LOVED it. Some parents were concerned they would be called late at night to come pick their kid up. I said I had no worries…that even if she called we would not pick her up. She would have to stay. She never called anyway.

  4. newhoosier Says:

    Roland, you hit the nail on the head, as you usually do.

  5. Roland Says:

    Well, thank you Newhoosier. I appreciate that.

  6. Marty Says:

    I don’t have kids, but deal with the nearly grown folk daily. It’s astounding what coddling can do…your kids are definitely tougher (already) than some of those I deal with.

  7. The Wussification of America « The Moratorium Site Says:

    […] limits.  I expect a lot out of her and don’t apologize for it.   As I said before in my overprotective parents blog it’s the feminization of our society approach that I don’t want to see come near my […]

  8. Another blast from the past « The Moratorium Site Says:

    […] her limits.  I expect a lot out of her and don’t apologize for it.   As I said before in my overprotective parents blog it’s the feminization of our society approach that I don’t want to see come near my kids.  Go […]

Leave a Reply

